2014 Awards Winners

The MCA Annual General Meeting and Awards Banquet took place at the Norwood Hotel on Sunday Nov 16th.

40 members were in attendance at this year’s AGM -Thank you!

Board of Directors: Trevor Ketler (President) and Currie Gillespie (Recreation & Transportation) will return for a two year term.  Welcome to new directors: Jackson Locken (MTB) and Terry Macyk (Cyclocross).  Dave Dorning will move to the BMX Director position which leaves only the Kids of Mud director position to be finalized.  Thankyou to retiring directors: Karin McSherry (KOM), Steve Brown (BMX), and Gary Sewell (CX) for their years of service to the association and cycling community.

Elections were followed by a brunch and Awards Ceremony with 115  in attendance. Steve Scoles returned as this year’s Master of Ceremonies.  Thank you to Steve who always adds a special flair and energy that elevates the entertainment value of our events. A special thankyou also to Stefan Ingthorsson who photographed our event. Photos of the evening will be shared on our “Manitoba Cycling” Facebook page asap.

In the Sport Manitoba, Sport excellence Category 70 Award of Merit Certificate were handed out to Provincial Champions and Provincial Team members. A record  7 Bronze and Silver medals were awarded to recipients that achieved a Bronze, Silver, and Gold medal at a National Championship. Congratulations to Natalie Young, Daniel Enns, Chris Prendergast, Willem Boersma, Oliver Evans, Danick Vandale, and Leah Kirchmann.

Full Awards Presentation (HERE)

2014 Order of Excellence Winners (HERE)

24 Cup Series Champions earned top points and the rights to wear the Cup Jersey in their age category for the 2015 season.

2014 Cup Jersey Winners (HERE)

The Annual Awards are based on the nominations received from our membership. Thankyou to everyone who took the time to recognize their cycling peers – athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers and Club organizers.

2014 Annual Award Winners (HERE)

Congratulations to this year’s top male and female winners of the Century 21 Bachman & Associates Interdisciplinary challenge. Don Rose and Natalie Young will wear the “Gold Jersey” in 2015!

After reminiscing over a video presentation of this year’s CX Nationals, we moved into the final awards presentations in the evening (including the annual Yellow comb award awarded to Lindsay Gauld for the best male coif).

The Erick Oland memorial was awarded to a Provincial Team athlete who is a role model amongst their peers in the areas of attitude, sportsmanship, leadership, and performance. Oliver Evans was the recipient for a second year is a row.

This year’s Lifetime Achievement Winner was Peter Williamson. Thankyou to the Williamson family, Jim Fisher, and Lindsay’s Gauld for their tribute. Peter’s children, Chris and Elizabeth accepted the award. Quoting Clara Hughes. “Peter changed my life”. “He was larger than life, a wonderful human being, a leader that demanded our best”. “Without him the rest of my history in sports never would have happened.”


As another season wraps up, planning for 2015 and onward is firmly underway!

On behalf of the MCA I would like to thank the Board of Directors, Clubs, Race Organizers, Athletes, Parents, Officials, Coaches, and Volunteers for their contributions this past year.  We are grateful for the many members in our community who give their time and energy for the greater good of cycling.  We have some exciting years of cycling ahead: The 2015 Cyclocross Nationals, 2016 Powersmart Summer Games, 2017 Canada Summer Games, and  even more exciting accomplishments and victories to celebrate.  Please consider becoming involved as a volunteer, fundraiser, sponsor, future board member, coach, athlete, or official – our success and the future of cycling depends on it. Thank you.