Boersma, Evans & Vandale – CX World Championships

It’s Official, Danick and Oliver will be joining, Willem Boersma representing Team Canada at the Cyclocross World Championships in Tabor, Czech Republic in February.

At the Cyclocross Nationals hosted by Winnipeg in October, Danick Vandale and Oliver Evans, were crowned this year’s new U23 and Junior National Cyclocross Champions.  On top of this they have earned an invitation from  the “Accent Inns Russ Hay’s Cycling Team to join their elite men’s team based out of Victoria, BC.  Willem Boersma was 3rd at this year’s Nationals and was last year’s National Cyclo-cross Champion.  Willem has been racing with cycle smart the past two cross seasons and will be joining Trek Red Truck in BC, February 2015.

Both Oliver and Willem started cycling in MCA’s grassroots, Kids of Mud Program.  Oliver with the Wolseley Wheels club in Winnipeg and Willem with Portage La Prairie’s Junk Yard Dogs club. Danick has been cycling with Team Manitoba for just 2 years and is a member of the Woodcock Cycle Works club.  All have accomplished tremendous success in a very short time-frame with the support of their coaches, families, team mates, and the cycling community as a whole.  Their determination, hard work, and dedication to the sport have paid off and we couldn’t be more proud of the great ambassadors they are for our Sport and the  province of Manitoba.

Our three Champions will be holding a “Bud Spud” fundraiser on January 10th,2015 to help raise the necessary funds to assist them with the next stage of their journey.  The trip to the world championships is completely self-funded so the boys need everyone’s support.


  • When: Saturday January 10, 2015. 6-9 P.M
  • Where: Tijuana Yacht Club, Canada Inns Polo Park
  • Cost: $20 per ticket

With the purchase of a ticket, you will get your choice of beverage, a potato and a steak (vegetarian options available) and the opportunity to participate in a silent auction and 50/50 draw.

To access tickets please contact Oliver Evans via email at