Annual Award Banquet Recap and Highlights

The 2012 Annual Awards Banquet was held at Rossmere Golf and Country Club on Saturday, November 24th.

Despite a heavy deposit of snow, we had a good turn-out, loads of Fun, and this years event was enhanced by a variety of videos, guest speakers, a silent auction,  DJ, and our Master of Ceremonies for the evening, Steve Scoles.

The event began with the most prestigious Presentation of the evening: The Lifetime Acheivement  award presented by Mr. Lindsay Gauld to recipient Mr. Jim Morrison. Jim was accompanied by his wife Grace as well as his Children and grandchildren. Mr. Morrison was recognized for his years of dedication to cycling and paving the way for many cyclists who may have not made the National and International scene without his support.  A buffet dinner was provided by the gracious folks at the Rossmere Golf and Country Club, followed by a video of Ms. Clara Hughes’ Sports Hall of Fame Inductee speech reminding us to be proud of our Manitoba Roots and that anything is possible (Click Here!).   The Awards Presentation of the evening followed.  The following award recipients were  recognized for their acheivements and impact on cycling in the 2012  season  :

  • The Order of Excellence Provincial Champion Winners:  Recipients (Here).
  • National Medalists: Willem Boersma – 3rd Cross Nationals, Karlee Gendron – 3rd Crit Nationals, Chris Prendergast – 1rst Road Nationals.
  • Manitoba Cup Points Champions/2012 Jersey winners: Recipients (Here)
  • Annual Awards Winners: Nominees and Recipients (Here)
  • Century 21 Jersey/Interdisciplanary Challenge: Top Male: Jared Fawcett. Top Female: Alex Bairos-Novak

(If you were not at the awards banquet but have a prize to claim, please contact the MCA office to make arrangements.)

In addition, retiring Board member Rob Nagy-BMX was recognized by MCA’s new BMX co-ordinator, Steve Brown.  Jason Carter-past President was recognized by new Road committee Co-ordinator, Kim Mitchell.  Both Jason and Rob have made a signficant impact to cycling in Manitoba during their tenure. We are  grateful for their involvment as volunteers on the  MCA board of directors and appreciate their contributions.

To wrap-up the evening Andrea Tetrault (Winnipeg Cycle Chick) presented a Helmet video which will be released this spring featuring many of our Provincial team athletes.  “Sweet” video Andrea and delivered only as the Winnipeg Cycle chick would – in style.  Oh… and no Provincial Athletes were harmed in this video so thanks for that too.

To cap-off the evening several attendees arm restled (not literally) to be top bidders at the  silent Auction.  I was unfortunately not successful but would have paid money to see Steve Scoles fit into that XS race bib he won.  Several Prizes were donated by members and Bike shops from across Manitoba. Just under $1000.00 was raised with all proceeds going towards the future development of our Team Manitoba. Thank you to Christine Prendergast and the Provincial team parents for organizing this event, to our guests who placed  bids, and of course to all of the community support in providing prize donations.  A Dance followed, which provided  lots of entertainment in its own right. Our music DJ for the evening was Sean Carter with  his friend Braden who despite having a small car collision enroute, arrived on schedule and  unscathed.  The evening was a wrap at  a 12 midnight, just in time for us to ride off in the sunset before our Bikes turned to Pumpkins.

We are always looking for ways to improve this event, so if you have any comments please feel free to share them with the office, via email (  or phone (204)925.5686.

We are working on a photo album of the evening which will be posted on facebook. Stay tuned !

Thanks again for a great season of racing.  We could not acheive this without the support of our clubs, members, volunteers, and sponsors -Sport Manitoba and Shelley Barnett and Brett Poncelet of Century 21 Bachman and Associates.

A reminder that our 2013 race calendar meeting is set for Tuesday, January 8th. Let’s make it our best season ever !!!